Big Valley Law Martin & Hahn, PLLC
View Our Practice Areas

All About Reckless Driving in the State of Virginia

recklessdrivingattorney.jpg

Driving a car is a serious responsibility. Reckless driving will not only put yourself in harm's way, but can also cause serious repercussions to others. Unfortunately, it is all too common as every two minutes across the nation, a person is injured during a drunk driving crash. In the state of Virginia, reckless driving is not taken lightly. Here is everything you need to know about reckless driving in Virginia.

What exactly is reckless driving?
Categorized under the Regulation of Traffic Code, reckless driving is defined as someone who is driving at a pace of over 20 miles per hour over the speed limit or is driving in excess of 80 miles no matter the speed limit. These laws are pretty straight forward, meaning if you are going 40 mph in a 20 mph zone, you can be arrested for reckless driving.

In addition, there are other expansive parts of the law that include cutting in and out between other vehicles, unsafe passing, failing to stop in front of a school bus, and driving with too many people in the front seat. For more specifics, click here.

First offense
Of course, both your criminal background and working with a reckless driving attorney will go far in determining your first offense punishment. However, it is important to know that any first offender in the state of Virginia is susceptible to any penalty, and expensive fines, jail time, and license suspension can all happen.

Short term consequences
Again, each consequence depends on the person, the lawyers used, and the offense, but some standard penalties include:

  • Up to twelve months in jail.
  • A maximum $2,500 dollar fine.
  • If a cell phone was used, the judge can impose an additional $250 fine.
  • License suspension of up to six months for first offense.
  • Up to four to six points on your license depending on severity of offense.

Drunk driving
In Virginia, DUI attorneys can plea down a DUI charge into a reckless driving charge, which is often called "wet reckless." When this happens, one can expect to suffer the same consequences of reckless driving as mentioned above, plus completing an alcohol safety action program.

Need a reckless driving attorney? Contact our office today and we will give you more information.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Email Us For A Response

Tell Us About Your Legal Issue

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Big Valley Law Martin & Hahn, PLLC

Harrisonburg Office
139 N Liberty Street
Suite 201
Harrisonburg, VA 22802

Phone: 540-208-1501
Fax: 540-433-1104
Harrisonburg Law Office Map

Woodstock Office
521 N Main Street
Office 101
Woodstock, VA 22664

Phone: 540-208-1510
Fax: 540-433-1104
Map & Directions

Staunton Office
1524 N Augusta Street
Staunton, VA 24401

Phone: 540-208-1501
Fax: 540-433-1104
Map & Directions