Reckless Driving: Charges That Require Skilled Defense
When you saw those flashing lights, you knew you were speeding. You shook your head, already thinking about the fine. You assumed it would be a few hundred dollars.
Yet under Virginia law, if you are going over 85 mph on any road in the state, that’s not just speeding. It’s reckless driving. The same is true if you ever go more than 20 mph over the speed limit.
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor, the same level of charge you would face if you were drunk behind the wheel. You could be arrested and thrown in jail. You could face fines of up to $2,500. On top of the criminal difficulties, your insurance rates could skyrocket if you are convicted of reckless driving.
The Points System In Virginia
You should know that the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles uses a points system to rate drivers, with a perfect record set at +5. One reckless driving ticket is a -6, while a speeding ticket is a -4. An extra few miles per hour can have a huge impact.
It is important that you understand exactly what charges you are facing and the legal options you have.
When one simple driving mistake could lead to jail time and thousands of dollars in fines, you need thorough, aggressive representation.
At Big Valley Law in Harrisonburg, we have decades of experience handling reckless driving cases. We know how to fight to protect your rights. We will help you understand the ins and outs of the law, keeping you in the loop at all times.
Get The Answers You Need About Your Charges
It is common to have questions about reckless driving, especially if it is your first charge. You can read a few of the most frequently asked questions that we hear from our prospective reckless driving clients.
What are some examples of reckless driving?
In Virginia, operating a vehicle recklessly or driving at a speed that may endanger other people counts as reckless driving. Some examples include:
- Failure to signal
- Passing multiple cars at once
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Failure to yield
- Drag racing
One or more of these actions can result in a reckless driving charge.
Where does law enforcement look for reckless driving in Virginia?
Police officers and state troopers can arrest you for reckless driving just about anywhere. The most common sites for reckless driving charges include major roadways such as:
- Route 11
- Route 33
- Route 250
- Route 340
The list does not end there. You could face an arrest for reckless driving on a quiet street in your own neighborhood.
Will I have a criminal record for reckless driving in Virginia?
In our state, reckless driving is a misdemeanor. Although you might have the chance to expunge the offense from your record, the laws surrounding expunction are very strict. You may only get the offense expunged if:
- The state dismissed the charges against you
- The state decided not to prosecute you
- A court acquitted you
- The court convicted you of an amended, lesser charge
As you can see, in all likelihood, you could very well have a permanent misdemeanor on your record if convicted. That is why you need aggressive defense from a reckless driving lawyer in Virginia.
Working With Our Firm
Our lawyers work hard to reduce your stress, no matter how minor or serious the charges are. We are thorough and prepared. We value open communication and will always put you first. If you want to set up a consultation with one of our criminal defense attorneys, please contact us online or call 540-904-0243.