The Virginia Senate passed an amendment to the current state statute that raises the reckless driving threshold from 80 to 85 mph. The bill, passed by a 25-14 vote, would amend the Virginia Code to read that reckless drivers are defined by driving at least 20 mph over the speed limit or more than 85 mph.
People are concerned about safety
Not everyone supports the amendment. Recent travelers polled at the Mount Spiney rest area expressed concerns about safety. The majority felt that drivers are already too distracted by their electronic devices to be traveling that fast.
Others express support
Other drivers surveyed said that they support the change, citing that many drivers are already driving at that speed anyway. One driver said that they have to drive 80 just to keep up with the flow of traffic on I91 into the Washington, D.C., area. These drivers feel that this increase won’t have much of an impact on how drivers navigate Virginia’s roadways.
It’s still only a bill
While the measure has passed the state senate, it will still need to pass the House of the Commonwealth and be signed into law before it goes into effect. The current statute says that reckless driving is a misdemeanor that carries a fine of $250 if convicted. This ticket can be issued to any driver going 10 mph or more over the speed limit. The current speed limit on Interstate 81 is 70 mph.
Until the law goes into effect, drivers can be charged with recklessness when going 10 mph over the limit. A family law lawyer may be able to assist if you wish to fight a reckless driving charge.