Driving is not merely a task; it’s a responsibility. One area of driving law that is particularly stringent in the Commonwealth of Virginia is the classification and punishment of reckless driving.
Anyone who’s facing a charge for reckless driving should understand the specifics of this matter so they can determine how to move forward.
Definition of reckless driving
In Virginia, reckless driving is not just a traffic infraction; it’s a criminal offense. According to Virginia Code § 46.2-852, reckless driving is defined as driving a vehicle on a highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.
There are various forms of reckless driving. They include, but are not limited to, exceeding the speed limit by 20 mph, driving over 85 mph regardless of the limit, racing, passing a stopped school bus, and failing to maintain control of the vehicle.
Consequences of reckless driving
As a Class 1 misdemeanor, the potential consequences of a reckless driving conviction are serious. They can include a fine up to $2,500, a six-month suspension of your driver’s license and even a jail sentence of up to 12 months. Additionally, a conviction can result in six demerit points on your driving record, which can lead to higher insurance rates and impact your ability to drive for employment purposes.
Explore your defense options
If you’ve been charged with reckless driving in Virginia, it’s vital to seek help from someone who understands this charge. Learning your defense options and determining the best way to handle this matter is critical. Some of your options might be time-sensitive, so don’t waste time when you learn you’re facing this charge.